Back to the blog

We’ve been a little quiet recently as we took a short break to focus on upcoming publications, but we’ll be posting lots more into this new year. In the meantime we are excited to share with you some of the titles we have been working on!

White Panther by Janez Jansa
Quintember by Richard Major (in paperback)
Parricide by Richard Major
Coming to Terms: Cambridge In and Out by Charles Moseley
and Fame & Faces by Sophie Loussouarn

INDIEBOOKS 2018.jpg

We’ll be adding more information on each of these over the coming weeks so make sure to keep an eye out if there are any that take your fancy.

We also offer reduced prices on all our titles when you order directly from our website. White Panther, Quintember and Parricide are all currently available for pre-order for just £7.95, and Coming to Terms is available now for £10. Fame & Faces will be available for pre-order in Spring 2018 (you can sign-up to the mailing list here, for a reminder).

Happy new year!

 

Advertisements

Sun v Shadows

8284159440_29c504883c_oWhilst the clocks have only recently gone forward and the sun is starting to make more regular appearances, it’s not too soon to be thinking about the October release of our long-awaited title ‘Shadows on the Fens’.

Edited by Wayne Drew, ‘Shadows on the Fens’ for the first time brings together the very best stories from the ghost-ridden counties of Norfolk, Suffolk, Essex and Cambridgeshire in one volume. With lonely dunes and marshes, ruined mills and lighthouses and unmarked tracks that lead you to the unknown, it’s no wonder so many of the masters of the English ghost story chose to set their tales in East Anglia. Some of the stories in this collection are old favourites, others have been out of print for years, and three new stories show the Eastern Counties still have the ability to inspire writers to explore the darker side.

It promises to be the perfect way to celebrate the nights drawing in again…

 

New Fiction for Summer 16!

leyendo-un-libro-en-la-playaWe have two new fiction titles to announce for the summer season. ‘The Ballad of Curly Oswald’ is the account of a boy growing up in a hippie commune in the 1970s amid his extended family of drop-outs and dreamers, as they grapple with problems ranging from eco-friendly slug-control to the mischief of a power-hungry guru. It is an extraordinary chronicle of a lifestyle both alternative yet strangely viable, a microcosm of eccentricity, comedy and grotesque tragedy, told with the unflinching eye of a child and the sympathy of a narrator who sees the underlying humour of life in all its deranged glory. And yet more bizarre is ‘Quintember’, which tells of the murderous career of Dr Felix Culpepper, a classics scholar of St Wygefortis College, Cambridge and assassin-of-choice to the British Establishment. If there is a book with more erudition, violence and wit in it, it has yet to cross our desk. Either is the perfect antidote to yet another Wilbur Smith or Katie FFFFForde style item of beach fodder.

Latitude North

We’re delighted – no, scrub C._W._R._D._Moseleythat, we’re proud – to be publishing a rather special book by the scholar and writer Charles Moseley. Latitude North is his account of a life-long love affair with the northern lands and seas, from his first voyage as a trainee deckhand on a deep sea trawler to his return to the northlands as the guest lecturer on an Arctic cruise ship. Defying categorisation, it combines history, literature, travel writing, botany and science, ranging from latest discoveries on pre-Christian navigation to the impact of development on some of the most remote settlements in the world. And while it has the erudition and insight you’d expect from a Fellow of a Cambridge college, the author has lived every moment and visited every location, from the ice-bound coast of Spitzbergen to the Viking settlements in Greenland and Newfoundland.

Latitude North will be published this autumn.

Autumn Releases 2: King’s Company

9781908041197

King’s Company

It could have been a shadow, but the darkness was too thick, and solid. Then the shape shifted, spreading and splitting, until William could see separate bodies: horsemen, five or six of them, gathered as if for a discussion.

       Only horsemen. But born in the middle of the civil war, William had never known a time when strangers in the lanes didn’t bring a warning chill at their backs.”

A chance encounter plunges young William D’Amory into a world of intrigue and betrayal. He meets new friends and dangerous enemies, and learns the truth about his father, as he is caught up in the fight for the throne of England itself.

This is an exciting debut by Jessamy Taylor. We’re sure she’ll become a major voice in historical fiction for children because she blends a sure feel for story-telling with a vivid sense of period, in the tradition of Rosemary Sutcliff and Ronald Welch. And in William D’Amory she has created a hero that boys and girls will want to follow to the last page.

‘Serve to Lead’ Arrives!

ImageIt’s always good to see a new title back from the printers. Here are some copies of ‘Serve to Lead’ ready to be admired. This was the manual on leadership given to each and every cadet officer when they arrived at the Royal Military Academy at Sandhurst. Now, for the first time, we’re making it available to a wider public – but we’ve kept the original look and feel (except for a matching dust wrapper to go with the red Weblin cover – and a rather good introduction by Robin Matthews, who had his own copy from his time in the Army, including commanding the Light Dragoons in Afghanistan.